Client AlertsEmployment & LaborRhode Island Minimum Wage Increases to $11.50 Per Hour

September 30, 20200

Beginning October 1, 2020, the minimum wage that employers must pay Rhode Island employees increases to $11.50 per hour. All employers must pay this minimum wage regardless of the employers’ size and revenue. Employers should update their workforce posters accordingly. It is important for employers to note that failing to pay the minimum wage could result in a court awarding the unpaid wages, liquidated damages in an amount up to two (2) times the amount of unpaid wages owed, as well as reasonable attorneys’ fees, costs, fines and possible imprisonment. Thus, it is crucial for employers to pay its employees at least this new minimum wage amount.

Click here for a downloadable version of the updated poster.

The Employment & Labor Practice Group at Partridge Snow & Hahn is fully updated on this and other related issues and are available to answer to your questions.

Get In Touch

    Leave a Reply

    https://www.psh.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/PSH-320x212.png

    Follow us:

    PROVIDENCE OFFICE

    40 Westminster Street
    Suite 1100
    Providence, RI  02903

    BOSTON OFFICE

    30 Federal Street
    Boston, MA  02110

    SOUTHCOAST OFFICE

    128 Union Street
    Suite 500
    New Bedford, MA  02740

    Copyright ©️ 2023 Partridge Snow & Hahn | All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer